Lionel Messi Wins 2019 Ballon D’Or Ahead Of Virgil Van Dijk
Lionel Messi Wins 2019 Ballon D’Or Ahead Of Virgil Van Dijk
Lionel Messi has won the 2019 Ballon D’Or. The Argentine has narrowly beat out the Liverpool’s Virgil Van Dijk to claim his record sixth Ballon D’Or award.

The arguable Greatest Player of All Time has added another Ballon D’Or to his trophy cabinet tonight.

Lionel Messi from @FCBarcelona is the 2019 Ballon d’Or winner! THAT’S HIS SIXTH ONE! #ballondor
– #BallondOr (@francefootball) December 2, 2019
Lionel Messi wins the 2019 Ballon D’Or, beating out Virgil Van Dijk and who came second.

Cristiano Ronaldo shockingly misses out of the top three for the first time since 2010, coming fourth behind Messi, and Van Dijk.

With Van Dijk coming second, Sadio Mane, Mohamed Salah and Alisson Becker made the top 10 with them coming , fifth, and seventh respectively.

More Liverpool players as well made the overall list with Giorginio Wijnaldum coming 26th, Trent Alexander-Arnold coming 19th, and Roberto Firmino coming 17th.

Lionel Messi is the 2019 #ballondor winner :point_up:
– #BallondOr (@francefootball) December 2, 2019
The most surprising addition to the top ten is easily Riyad Mahrez. The Algerian winger came tenth and was part of Manchester City’s Domestic Treble as well as Algeria’s triumph in the African Cup of Nations.

However, Mahrez wasn’t that instrumental in City’s Season, normally behind a mixture of Kevin De Bruyne, Raheem Sterling, and Bernardo Silva.

De Bruyne and Sterling came 14th and 12th respectively with David Silva missing out on the top 30 altogether.

Robert Lewandowski only came eighth in the rankings. The Polish striker is set to become the highest goalscorer for the Calendar year for 2019 with 45 goals to his name with December to go.

Ranked at the 8th place of the 2019 #ballondor :arrow_heading_down:@lewy_official :flag_pl:@FCBayern

Live ranking >

– #BallondOr (@francefootball) December 2, 2019
Mathijs De Ligt was the winner of the 2019 Kopa Trophy, given out to players under the age of 21. The Dutch international also came in 15th in Ballon D’Or.

Matthijs de Ligt is the 2019 Kopa Trophy winner ! #kopatrophy #ballondor
– #BallondOr (@francefootball) December 2, 2019